4th Annual Scientific Session Recap

The Georgia Vascular Society 4th Annual Scientific Sessions were held September 16-18, 2016, at the Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee, in Greensboro, Georgia. Guest Speakers included John F. Eidt, MD, FACS; John "Jeb" W. Hallett, MD, FACS; Ross Milner, MD, FACS and our honored guest, Robert B. Smith, III, MD.

Dr. Smith, a distinguished vascular surgeon from Emory University, was honored with the first Lifetime Achievement Award. The award is being sponsored by the Georgia Vascular Foundation, Inc. and is given to individuals who have spent their careers providing outstanding service and training in the field of vascular surgery. A luncheon was held where he was presented the award by Dr. Patrick M. Battey and a special video tribute was shown featuring his family and former residents he trained. Dr. Smith reflected on the event saying "The entire Lake Oconee weekend will be a treasured memory for us and for those family members who were able to attend. Our sincere gratitude goes to the Georgia Vascular Society for the kind introductory remarks by Pat Battey and the elegant glass sculpture commemorating my recognition. It was a real pleasure for us to see so many of our former Emory trainees and their spouses, some from as far away as Texas and California. The entire event was at the same time humbling and gratifying."

It was also announced that GVS will rename their current Resident Award to the "Robert B. Smith, III, MD Resident Award" in his honor.

Dr Smith

Preceding the luncheon, five residents competed for the 2016 Resident Award and this year's winner was Joshua M. Rosenblum, MD, PhD, a fellow from Emory University, for his presentation Single-Stage Resection Intracaval Leiomyomatosis with Intracardiac Extension. The award was presented to him by Dr. Ravi K. Veeraswamy.

Dr. Maurice M. Solis followed with his Presidential Address and was presented a plaque in appreciation of his service by incoming President, Dr. Anthony J. Avino.

Resident Award

Saturday evening was filled with food, fun and football at the President's Tailgate Party. A Cuban spin on the traditional BBQ featured a whole roasted pig, marinated flank steak and various Cuban style accompaniments and desserts, all enjoyed while cheering for UGA on the big screen.

The Stableford format for the golf tournament was new this year and the team of Dr. William Schroder, Robert Coleman, Dr. Daniel McDevitt and John Pelfrey came in first place. Other winners were Dr. Bill Darden, Closest to the Pin; Robert Coleman, Longest Putt; and Dr. Mark Rheudasil, Longest Drive.


Save The Date!



© 2018 Georgia Vascular Society

Georgia Vascular Society
c/o Burkhardt Planning and Consulting, LLC
2520 Vestal Parkway East #238
Vestal, NY 13850

Telephone: (607) 754-2765
Fax: (850) 907-1230
Email: info@georgiavascularsociety.org